Evaluation

Research-

At the start of this project I went to the library in college to see if there was anything in there that would give me an idea for my final project. I did have a small idea on doing street photography, as we did go to London for a few days before we actually started this project and I really enjoyed taking photographs of street signs and buildings etc. So I decided to take a book out that was called ‘Street Photography Now’ by Sophie Howarth and Stephen McLaren. This book didn’t really help me at all as it just told you how street photography has changed over the years, don’t get me wrong it still was very interesting to read but it just didn’t help me with my project.

So I decided to go along with the first plan I had which was just to take normal photographs of streets in cities that are close to me like Sheffield, Lincoln, Leeds or Nottingham or maybe all of them. I did have another idea about going to London and take some photographs of the underground as i do have relatives that live down there meaning I would have somewhere to stay. But when looking in to it a bit more it wouldn’t have the time to go down to London as well as having a few family problems during this project, so I decided to stick to the first plan.

We then we had a lesson on how we could make our project wow, so then I decided to do some more research in the different types of street photography. We then watched a BBC Four short film about a candid photographer called Dougie Wallace, he is very different to other photographer, which is what makes him unique. Therefore I had to use him as an inspiration for my project. The other photographers that I looked into are Aaron Yeoman, Daniel Ashton and Roevin. I did my case study on the photographer Aaron Yeoman, this is because I found his work more interesting than the others, plus there was also more information on him making it easier for me.

The final idea that I am using for this project is ‘Candid photography but from a distance’, the reason why I wanted to do this is because I wanted to capture people just going about their everyday lives without them knowing. The only problem with this is that I took these photographs in local places so my subjects could walk into the exhibition and report or have a negative thing to say about my work, I hope this doesn’t happen. I was going to be doing it up close but I did  try it once with strangers and that didn’t go to plan (see blog post task two).

Production Plan-

I did make two production plans as the first one was originally made for when I was going to go down to London but that failed so I had to make another one that went along with the second idea that I had. In my opinion I didn’t go along with my production plan as I thought that I had most of my final photographs within the first test shoot I did. I can obviously learn from this in the future and make my production plan more realistic and adjustable to me but I did stick to the last two weeks where I had to edit, print and write the evaluation. I’m really glad that I stuck to the last bit of the production plan as I have everything done on time and ready for the deadline day on the 9th June 2017.

Test shoots and Final shoot –

My first test shoot I did was in Sheffield city centre, I did this because it is the closet city to college and me. Overall, I think this test shoot went really well because I did get a lot of images that turned out really well. The other test shoots didn’t go as well as this first one. I went to Leeds one friday afternoon to try and get some more photographs of strangers in there everyday life but I only managed to get one as there was hardly anyone around, this was my own fault as I should have gone in the rush hour time instead of midday. For my final shoot I decided to go back to Sheffield again and take some more photographs but this time instead of taking photographs of people I decided to take photos of street signs, as I thought it would look cool if I was to have a row of people then a row of street signs/streets then another row of people. The reason why I planned it like this was because I didn’t want my final images to just have nine images of people because I thought that would have looked boring but after having a mini photo shoot in sheffield with street signs I didn’t think that the two (candid and street signs) would match, so I ditch the whole street sign idea and decided to just go with 9 candid photographs instead but have an interesting pattern when I come to edit them. I did this because I thought it would give something extra to my project then just nine ordinary photographs. I tried my very best to make the photographs that I took look like the artists I had chosen for my research, I think I have done this but only with the photographer Daniel Ashton as I have remembered my depth of field as well as the rule of thirds as most of my images are either on the left or the right. However, when it came to editing I really wanted to make my work look my case study artist Aaron Yeoman so I used the same software as him as well as the same tools which include the Radial Filter and the spot healing brush.

Editing– 

So overall, I decided to go with a pattern that I thought it will work very well with one the pattern being five of my images being in colour and then the other four being in black and white, but because I was looking at Yeoman’s work I wanted my work to look similar to his edits especially the black and white ones. My favourite edit that I have done would have to be the old man at the bus stop with the moustache. The reason for this is because I really like how I had gotten rid of the distractions in the photograph as it would have made my audience look away from the man and focus more on the flaws. I also like how I made him stand out more by adding a slight vignette around him to make look like there is nobody else in the photograph, as this would them emphasise the fact that he is lonely making this image have a meaning behind it. The only problems that I had with the editing was that I was quite new to the software as I’m used to making manual edits when it comes to final pieces, but with this project I wanted to try something new and I’m very lucky that it has gone to plan. The editing process for most of my images was surprising quick, I was expecting to get a little help from my tutor here and there but I think I did really good job on my own. (See task three for screenshots and editing process)

Advertisement –

Part of my project is to make something that the public could interact with as well as advertise the exhibition, me and a few friends thought it would be a go idea to make a Instagram account up, but then we decided to make a joint one where the whole class could get involved because then we could get a bigger audience and then more people would see this Instagram. I decided to take charge of the account, I decided to have system where I would upload a picture everyday but change the student everyday. So I had my fellow students email me there work then I would upload there work (including mine) to the Instagram page using our own hashtag #MYFMP2017 as well as the hasgtags #rotherhamcollege and #rotherhamadvertiser. Then Amy and I decided to create a poster that we could post on our own photography blogs to get the information out that even more. We decided to do a poster on the computer instead of it being on paper, the reason for this being that with the online poster you can share it whereas you cant really share a paper poster about from tell people, we have no idea if it will work but its worth a try.

Printing and Mounting –

I had no idea how big I wanted my prints to be so I had a discussion with my tutor and he suggested I printed them A4 as this was an average size and would work with how much space I have in the gallery as well as how much I was wanting to spend on my work when it was being printed. Overall, it came to a total of 99p so it didn’t cost much money at all. The thing that cost a lot was the mounting as i dint realise that college was supplying the spray mount so I bought some of my own not knowing we already had some, so that was ten pound I could have saved. I must admit it did take me a few shops to find the perfect foam board. The first shop I went to was ‘The Works’, it was really cheap but I had hear really bad things from other people in the class so I didn’t bother. I then tried ‘Rymans’ and they had some foam boards in stock but for a really expensive price, so I decided to by it right there as this foam board has had no bad reviews and there was only two packs left and there was none in stock, altogether it had cost me £27.98 for the two packs of foam boards but hopefully it will be worth it. I did struggle with cutting the foam board down to the right shape as I had never done anything like that before, I did get some assistance from my tutor which was really nice of him, he a lot told me a few tricks which I can keep in mind for the next time, thats if I do use foam board.

Feedback – 

  • Are there any issues with the work? If so, what could I do better?

I didn’t get any negative feedback from anyone but my tutor made a statement about the size of my prints. He thought that I might have had a problem with the size as the heads of my subjects were really small, but because I have nine photographs the size of the prints is completely fine.

  • Do I have the right amount of images for this exhibition?

The brief does say it has to be a minimum of four photographs, and I have nine so I think I have got the right amount, if I was to have more space in the gallery then I would make my prints a little bit bigger than A4 as then it would be more visible for people who are stood far away to see my work.

  • Does the layout fit the theme?

I think my layout does fit the theme, as its not just nine photographs stuck in a random order its been set out to draw people in with it having a pattern in it. But then again my project doesn’t really have a theme so it wouldn’t really matter want order it went in, but I like how I have set it out so I’m planning to leave it like that.

Problems –

I didn’t have a major problem with this project as the main problem I had was right at the start when I couldn’t get down to London and do my first plan. I am glad that this problem happened at the start and not in the middle. The only thing that bothered me was the fact that I had done so much research about the underground that I didn’t even need to know as I wouldn’t even be going down there, so I have done twice as much research but its nothing to worry about I could always use it for future preferences.

Solutions – 

Because I had already wasted a week on researching the underground I tried not to waste anymore time and move on to researching candid photography almost straight away. This means that my research on candid is not as explained as the underground as I had to rush some research just to make sure I was up to date with my production plans as well as the deadline days.

Overall –

I am really happy on how this project turned out as i think I worked really hard on my photographs as well as my blog. I’m glad I chose the genre, candid even though it was stressful at sometimes I did really enjoyed it. I’m happy how my photographs look apart from one but thats something that I could learn for next time. The locations that I chose for this project worked really well as you can tell there all in the street meaning I have meet my genre ‘Street Photography’.

I think I have become more confident as a photographer as this wasn’t something I would have normally done, I’m proud that I have completed this project without any thing dramatic happening. What I mean by this is I didn’t let my anxiety get in the way of my work, because if I let it take of me then I probably would have backed out of this project as it would have gotten too much.

I feel like I have met the brief as my work does fit the criteria. The brief suggested to split your work into 4 different tasks and then a different blog for an artist statement, which is what I have done. I would like to think that my work is good enough because I have tried incredibly hard and gotten over something that could have stopped me from finishing this project. I also feel that I met my own criteria. I did follow my production plan more or less but every time I did somethings different but the plan stayed the same for the most part. I wrote down what had happened in the past week on each date in my production plan and I even got ahead of my plan in the end.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Gallery –

My images that I have put up in gallery has turned out exactly how I wanted it to do, I have arranged the photos into a grid with three photographs going down and  three photographs going across. I am proud of the work that I have achieved as I have got the outcome that I at first desired when I was planning this project at the start. The general public will be able to view my work between the dates Tuesday 13th June 2017 to Monday 27th June 2017, I am hoping that the work I have produced is up to the high expectations of my fellow students as well as my tutors. I wanted to keep my exhibition really simple as I thought if I had frames it would make my work look really crowed as too much is happening, making my audience look a way from my work and focus more on the mounting and not my work. This is why I have decided to use foam boards instead.

 

