4th May 2017-

Test Shoots in Other Cities –

I am hoping to go to Leeds, York, Lincoln and Nottingham. This is because I am wanting to get as many as test shoots so I have many to choose from to use for my final project and my exhibition. The next city that I am hoping to go to is Leeds, this is because I think Leeds has a really good train station in my opinion anyway.

5th May 2017-

A Trip to Leeds – 

Today me and a friend who is also on the same course went to Leeds to try and get some test shoots as well as (maybe) some final photographs. I thought it would be a great opportunity for me to go today as there is a huge train station that looked really good in my mind of what I wanted for my final project as well as get more experience of me doing ‘Candid Photography’. Below there is a slideshow of the photographs that I got today. I didn’t get any train station photographs as there was hardly anywhere there as I didn’t go in the rush hour times. I am hoping to go to Sheffield train station this week and take some photographs due to there is always someone waiting for a train there.

Overall, I think that it was no point of my going today as in my opinion I only got a few, maybe three that I could use for my final projects as the others were too blurry or the aperture wasn’t set correctly. In future I think I need to do some research on the place I’m going to as we went to “Trinity” as I thought they would be some great photo opportunities but because this shopping centre is made out of glass the sun was always shining through meaning I was fiddling with the aperture and ISO, which made me stressed as the people that I wanted to photographed had already walked by.

The whole point on why I wanted to go to Leeds was because of its huge train station as it would produce amazing final photographs but when we got there, nobody was even there, which made me very upset and disappointed.  I think this was because we went on a week day as well as it being 10:30am when we should have really gone at like 07:30am and 17:30am so it would have been rush hour meaning there would be more people and more photo opportunities, I can learn from this mistake in future preferences.

Test Shoots Leeds – 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In the slideshow above, some of the photographs turns out blurry which annoyed me very much because at the moment I thought they were all in focused but it turned out they weren’t. I do have a few favourites that I will probably use as my final photographs but it all depends how they turn out when I come to edit them.

IMG_5520

The reason why I don’t think this picture above turned out the way I wanted it to was due to the camera settings that was set on my camera. The aperture was set at f 4.0 which wasn’t the correct setting for this kind of photo due to the weather as it was very sunny that day. Also the ISO was set on the wrong setting due to it being 500 which made the photo look even brighter than it already was. I have no idea how this photograph turned out blurry as the shutter speed was on 1/500 which is perfect for a motorbike driving passed at 70mph meaning that the photograph would be a percent freeze frame when the motorbike whizzes passed. But I have spoken to my tutor who has suggested that I should hold my finger down halfway on the shutter then focus the square in the view-finder on the persons eye and follow them until I get the perfect image, meaning I can then press my finger all the way down and take the photograph. However, I do like how the man is positioned in the photograph just because its off centre, which is very different to the previous photo shoot in Sheffield as there all were pretty much bang on in the middle. I can learn from these mistakes in my next photo shoot.

IMG_5526

The problem with this photograph was similar to the first one but the settings weren’t the problem it was myself. The reason for this would be that I wasn’t quicker enough to follow the older man around the shopping whilst making sure I wasn’t noticed as well as keeping it in focus, I did two things out the three but not the last one. I can learn from this by using the technique that my tutor suggesting with holding the shutter button down half way again.

IMG_5512

This in my opinion is my worst photograph out of the whole photo-shoot. This is because the orange high visible jacket is really bright as the woman was in the sun, plus my ISO was on too high, I am not proud of this photograph. Although, it would have been a good photo if the woman was in focus and the jacket wasn’t so bright, as you can see where she is, also the background in this photograph looks really good. If the exposure was correct then I would probably have used this photograph in one of my final photographs altogether.

Favourites – 

For this photo shoot I did have a few favourites as some did turn out better than others.

IMG_5501

This is my first favourite photo that I liked in the Leeds photo shoot. The things that i like about this photograph is that it captures the guy walking making the photograph look real and not staged. I also like how the photograph is in focus and really clear making every detail on the man stand out. I think this photograph will be a very easy edit due to me not seeing anything wrong with it. If I was to edit this photograph then

IMG_5543

I think this would have to be my favourite photograph out of the whole entire photo shoot. The main reason why I like this photo in particular is that the shadow across his eyes which creates a lot of depth of field making every detail look really interesting to look whether thats from a distance or even up close.

IMG_5545

This is my last favourite photograph out the whole entire photo shoot from Leeds because its similar to the pervious one but instead it doesn’t have a shadow across its face, its more focused on the facial features which would become useful when editing as then I have something to work with.

Re-Shoots –

I am hoping to go the Sheffield city centre again next week to get some more test shots as there were more interesting characters there then Leeds, I would like to go to Lincoln one day next week as well. I don’t really have a clear image of how I want to present my work, whether its street and Candid or just candid, as I know for sure that Lincoln has some nice back streets that would create excellent final photographs.

8th May 2017-

Presenting My Work – 

The way I am on about presenting my work was going to be in ordinary  white frames at the size of twelve inches by twelve inches but after I’ve done some research on different frames and sizes its going to be a lot of money. The first website that I looked on was the wilko website as I have been told that there are cheap frames from here, but when I looked the cheapest frame that I would have used was £6.50 for just one, making the total come to £78 as I would need twelve frames but this is without any printing of any photographs yet.

 Screen Shot 2017-05-10 at 17.06.35

This is a huge problem as I wouldn’t be able to afford the frames as well as the photographs meaning I’m going to change how I will present my work. One of my tutors suggested to me that I should use foam board instead as it isn’t that expensive and you can get a lot of it in one go.

So I decided to look online to see how much foam board is, I tried Rymans as I knew they sell it but I don’t know how much for. It turns out they sell it for a really cheap price. They do all different sizes and it would make sense if I got the bigger size meaning I would have spares bits just in case something went wrong. I am planning to get the A1 size as its only £6.66 for one sheet which is a really good deal.

Screen Shot 2017-05-09 at 15.08.30

I am hoping to do similar sizes to the frames above but this is depending on how much space I have in the exhibition.  I am wanting to show off most of my work, so what I was thinking is to have 3 rows of pictures but have a pattern within them, 5 photographs in colour and then 4 in black and white. I had a discussion with my tutor about what size I should print my final images for the exhibition.

12th May 2017-

I was originally going to plan all the final images being the popular sized photographs which are ‘6″x 4″‘. I printed one off just to see what it looked like, I held it up against the wall and the head on my subject wasn’t that big meaning you wouldn’t be able to see them very well from a distance. Therefore, I decided to change the size of the photographs to the size of an A4 piece of paper. As then this will be bigger and my subjects head will be bigger and will look more interesting from a distance and would want to draw anyone in to look at my work.

The printing of my final photographs came to a total cost of 99p, which I thought was a reasonable amount of money to say I had 9 sheets of thick photographic paper, with my photographs in the size of A4 but on an A3 sheet of paper. I really pleased with how my images have turned out and I can’t wait to present them to the public in the exhibition.

13th May 2017-

Today I went to the Rymans store and I bought myself two packs off A3 sheets of white foam board which had five sheets within them meaning I now have ten sheets of foam board, therefore I have plenty enough for my final project and one spare in case I go wrong. Altogether one pack cost £13.99 making the total come to £27.98 which was really pricey but hopefully its worth it. I couldn’t fine a cheaper place where they sell foam board so I just had to make do with the price. I also bought some spray mount (the blue can) meaning I would be able to glue my photographs down easier then glue sticks or even cellotape. This cost me another £9.99 but I’m willing to share it with anyone else who needs it.

My Final Photographs –

One 

This is my first final photograph, it is also my favourite photograph out of the whole bunch. The reason for this is because I’m really impressed how good the edit came out. In this image there are a few distractions like the yellow paint mark to the right side of the photograph. There is also a zip tie in the top left corner which annoyed me when I came to edit all my test shots. I have also noticed that this photograph in particular is not straight at the bottom which annoyed me very much so I knew that this photograph would have to be photoshopped. The first thing that I did was open this RAW image into photoshop and cropped the image so the bottom would be level and not wonky like it was before.  Then I decided to use either the spot healing brush or the patch tool to get rid of what classes as a distraction to me (paint mark and zip tie). As this makes the man more instresting to look at as there isn’t anymore imperfections in the photograph. I then decided to change the contrast colour of the whole photograph so then the guy stands out even more, making the guy have a lot of detail on his jacket as well as his face. As well as messing around with the contarst colour I also added a ventena around the man to bring even more attention towards the centre of the photograph. I also like how he is almost looking directly at the camera making it look really realistic. The location for this photograph is in the middle of Sheffield city centre at a random bus stop.

Two

This is my second favourite photograph but unfortunately I’m not using it for my exhibtion. With this photogarph I did edit it in black and white to start off with but then I realised that you can see her reflection in the window which gave me an really good idea on an edit. I cropped the picture down so the homeless woman was the main focus and not the street, I tried to focus the attention in on the reflection of her face on the facade of the building, which adds a nostalgic feel to the image showing that perhaps that there is another side to this woman history and people don’t see the bigger picture. I was going to use this image for my exhibtion but it doesnt really fit in with the theme so sadly I’m  going to leave it and not use it. The location for this photograph is in the middle of Sheffield city centre. I do really like itand will be using it for my portfolio but not this one unfortunately.

Screen Shot 2017-05-10 at 18.45.46.png

Three

The location for this photo was in Rotherham town centre, it was a struggle to get the photograph as both of the men were looking in my direction but they both looked away at the same time meaning I had the perfect opportunity to get a photograph, which I have done as you can see above. For this photograph I wanted to edit it in the style of Aaron Yeoman as he uses the Radial Filter as well. I wanted the man on the left to be the main foucs of the photograh so i decied to use Radial Filter, to create an ovular diffused effect to further expose him.  I did this to engage the viewer with the primary subject and draw the attention away from the man with the hat on. In my opinion it doesnt look like Yeoman’s work but it was worth a try and could always try on some other photographs. I do like how it turned out as there is so much to look at in the photograph which makes it different and not boring.

Screen Shot 2017-05-10 at 18.46.17

Four

This photograph was a struggle to edit as I didnt know what to do, so I asked my tutor to help me and he suggested to add a vignette to draw more attention to the two people talking. This photograph I wasnt going t use in my exhibtion as it was only designed to demonstrate that you can create a vignetted look through lowering the exposure of a particular area of the image, which may not add any value or interest to the image. But it turned out so much better than expectd. This photograph was taken in the Sheffield city centre near the water fountains. I do and don’t like this photograph, I do because they both look happy and not gloomy like the other photographs but then again it does look staged meaning I’ve made them sit there and look like they’re talking and are interested in one another but I haven’t but someone may think that.

 

Screen Shot 2017-05-10 at 18.52.50.png

Five

This is the only photograph that I will be using from Leeds, there were a few others that were okay but I perfered this one because fitted into the pattern better than the other two as this one is in the street and not on the train. I think I have done a really good job at editng as it almost looks like Daniel Ashton’s work. The black and white in the  image really draws the eye into the centre of the frame, with a desire to emphasize his facial expressions and features. The use of black and white can also provide the image with dead space, again drawing the viewers eye and isolating the subject. The way I did this was use the sharpen tool around his facial features especially near the eye to draw the most attention there, I then added a vignette around him as in the orignal photograph there was a lot of negative space that didnt need to be there so I made it darker so more attention is on the subject.

Six

This is another favourite out of my final photographs, I really like how the background is blurry but the subject is in focus. This means I got my depth of field right which makes me really happy. The only thing that I dislike about the photograph is that the woman is bang on in the middle and I dont like that, if she was closer to the left or the right it would probably be my favourite one. The reason why I dont think it works with her being in the middle is taht she isnt directly looking at the camera whereas the man in my first photograh was. I edited this only slighty as it didn’t need much editing doing in my eyes, I changed the brightness up a bit as I wanted her to have a bit more colour meaning I had to to dim the background. This was the tricky part as I’ve never done anything like it before, I watched a few videos on youtube and they helped me almost staright away which was good. The location for this was near the train sation in Sheffield city centre.

Seven

Jeremy

This is my least favourite out of the nine that I have chosen to write about. The reason why I dont like it is because it doesn’t fit in with the other photographs as this one was too bright, as the orginal image was over exposed, as I was on the wrong aperture at the time as well as having the ISO on too high. I did try to edit it differently to give my editng skills a whirl but it didnt go far as the only thing that I really could do was put a vignette around him to try and bring the brightness down a bit. If I had taken my time getting the camera ready, having the right settings set then I would really like this photograph but right now I don’t. The location for this photograph was in Sheffield train station, this was a really good place for getting some candid shots as everyone is too busy to pay attention to anything, so you could get away with taking anyones photo.

Eight

Linda

This is another image from Sheffield train station, I prefer this one a lot more than the one above as I did have longer to get the correct settings befoe she walked past me. I enjoyed editng this one as I tried something new which was changing the shadows and highlights within the picture. I had to get my tutor to show me how to do it first which was a really easy thing to do, I made a slight s shape with the shadows and highlights, and it made the image above. I really like how she is smiling as well as it gets people wondering what could she be thinking/smiling about.

Nine

Judy

This is my last photograph that i am going to be talking about. It was taken on the bridge just above platforms one and two at Meadowhall Interchange train station through a window. I like how this photograph turned out as its quite simple but interesting. Its interesting beause other people can create little stories about her like why is she touching her nose? What is she thinking about etc. Because the image was taken through a window and I didnt think I would end up using it but I am going to because you can barely tell there is a glass in front of her apart from the bottom two corners. When I came to edit this photograph I didn’t want to do anything dramatic as I like how it looked in the first place so I decied just to turn it in to balck and white and then go from there.

Overall, I am very pleased on how my images have turned out and I hope everyone that sees my work in the exhibtion apperiate it too. I was planning to leave a book on a table in frot of my work for the public to leave comments or ask questions because I didn’t think I would have been able to make it the day of the exhibiton but I can so I can be there in person to get the feedback from tthe public and asnwer any questions anyone has got for me.

