Once I had finished filming with Amy and George and had all the footage that will last in the three to five minutes. The reason why it has to be this long because this is what it says in our project brief. The song I chose is about three minutes and forty seconds which is perfect as this makes me have a lot of time to do what I wanted to do in my video once I’ve edited it.

The first thing that I did was import all my footage over onto the “videos page” in iMovie. The reason why I chose this software instead of using premier pro was because in previous years I’ve used this software and know quite a lot about it which made this project easier for me, as I also have a Mac at home which means I can work from home as well as in college on the mini Macs. I then imported the song and dragged it down onto the bar at the bottom as I found this was the best way to start editing.

Screen Shot 2017-02-15 at 13.18.24.png

As you can see in the above image all my footage that I shot with Amy and George is set out quite nicely making it easier for me to see what videos I’m going to use/edit. In some of the squares there is little orange bars at the bottom of the videos. This is what videos I’ve used so far, which helps me a lot as it doesn’t make me add the same video in twice. The way I got the footage into the bar (where you can edit it) was just to drag the video you want and drop into the place you would like it to be, you can move it around afterwards, it won’t stay there in a fixed position which is what makes this software really easy to use.

Once my song was covered with all the footage I wanted, this was time for me to start editing meaning cutting parts out, adding titles screens, credits etc. I added a ‘Title screen’ which I put on for four seconds. At first I didn’t know what to call me video as its a music video and you can’t really give it a name as most to date music videos just go straight into the video. The way I got around this was to use a quote from a song that meant a lot to me and will do to other people, which I thought was a nice touch.

Screen Shot 2017-02-15 at 13.29.08.png

For the start of it, I wanted all of the video to be in black and white just to give it an interesting vibe like the music video ‘The A Team by Ed Sheeran’ which is what I was kind of going for but with a completing different story behind it all.

Screen Shot 2017-02-15 at 13.34.21.png

The way I did this was to click on the video I wanted in a different effect. Then I clicked on the paint tray icon.

Screen Shot 2017-02-15 at 13.35.27.png

Then this little list of sliders appear. I clicked on the multi-colour on which is the exposure slider.

Screen Shot 2017-02-15 at 13.35.39.png

I changed the colour of the video to black and white by moving the little grey circle to the left all the way to make the it change colour. I did this with all the footage that needed to be in black and white.

Screen Shot 2017-02-15 at 13.35.49.png

Inserting Text Messages and Sound Effects 

Once I had finished editing it was now time to add in the text messages and the sound effects. I didn’t want to do this at first as I didn’t know how you did this sort of thing, but after doing a little bit of research I found out how to do it so I went along with this idea. The first thing I did was to find a blue text message that was blank and a PNG on google, it took me a while to find one but I eventually did. I then edited this image as I added some text to go with what I wanted it to say and then I save it as an image and to my desktop so it would be easier to find when I needed it. I did the same with the other text message but obviously in a different colour and the speech bubble facing the opposite way. Once I had done a few messages (of each colour) it was now time to add them into my video. I did this by drag the right text message from my desktop into iMovie and over the clip I wanted this to be in, it then comes up with options if you want the image to be cutaway, green screen  picture in a picture etc. I chose the picture in a picture option as this would give me then option to crop and decide how long the image will be on screen for.

Screen Shot 2017-02-15 at 15.05.59.png

For the sound effects I wanted the iPhone text alert as I have an iPhone and I have done the text messages in the style of an iPhone. I searched ‘iPhone text alerts’ on Youtube and quite a few suggestions came up some were like a second long and the others with like forty seconds long, I listen to quite a few until a found the right one. Not going to lie it got me very annoyed and irritated quite easy.

I then converted the link (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xYTWPHHA_BA) on the website youtube converter, which turns youtube videos, songs etc into a MP3 song or video, meaning you can download this to any bit of technology. I downloaded this sound effect onto my desktop as its really easy to find and what take me long to move and edit my video so the text messages and sound effects will be in time with one another.

 

 

